Concerto for Two Violas and Orchestra, 2015

Commissioned by The Cleveland Orchestra

Robert Vernon and Lynne Ramsey, solo violas   Christoph von Dohnányi, conductor

“…Based on Smetana’s “From My Life” Quartet, Sortomme’s readily approachable second gift to Cleveland emerged as…a gripping, vigorously colorful re-imagining of the original…Despite its audible roots in an existing piece, the concerto was relentlessly unpredictable…the piece also kept listeners on their toes, shifting unexpectedly from the ponderous and melodious to the frenzied and rhythmic…

Indeed, Sortomme knows how to write for orchestra, and must be permitted to do so again…”

The Plain Dealer
Zachary Lewis
November 20, 2015