Of Note
February 20, 2020: World Premiere of Piano Concerto performed by Pamela Mia Paul and the North Texas Wind Symphony, Daniel
Cook conductor, receives raves and standing ovation.
Listen and Watch Live Streaming of the World Premiere of Richard’s Piano Concerto

“Brava Pamela! Wonderful performance of a strangely enchanting work. Thank you for your collaboration with Richard and bringing an entirely new dimension to the Wind Symphony repertoire!”

James Ryon, Professor of Oboe, University of North Texas
September 27, 2018: Savannah Philharmonic Overture, TEN, World Premiere
“…The piece opened with fanfare, but shifted more sensually into a sweeping ballad — echoing the haunting and alluring nature of Savannah’s streets, gazed upon through Spanish moss hanging over dimmed Victorian street lamps. A shift back to the more fanciful and bustling seemed to represent the movement and flow of a pre-1900s city filled with the scurrying steps of commerce and prosperity, signaled through the string and woodwind melody. To close, the brass section brings you to attention as the timpani swells and the grand gesture to the Hostess City is given its due completion…”

Zach Dennis, Savannah Morning News
September 23 & 24, 2017: Lynn University Violin Concerto Regional Premiere
“…the work was inspired (according to the composer’s program note) by the Violin Concerto of Erich Wolfgang Korngold… The two works are of about equal length (30 minutes) and share elaborate and inventive orchestration… His orchestra glows and glitters appealingly…”

By Dennis D. Rooney, Palm Beach ArtsPaper
September 13, 2016: Savannah Philharmonic Violin Concerto Premiere
“…it was the second movement of the program’s three pieces that created an extraordinary night of symphonic music…The world premiere of a new violin concerto by Richard Sortomme… is a daring piece of postmodern symphonic music… Lonely, broken solos of strumming oscillated with excursions into a high range of staccato notes were as refreshing as they were nearly painful at times…The concerto received a standing ovation, duly deserved for a piece which was as daring and beautiful as it was lonely and desolate, coursing a wide swath of emotion and tonal embodiment…”

Joshua Peacock, Savannah Morning News
November 20, 2015: The Cleveland Orchestra Double Viola Concerto Premiere
“…Based on Smetana's "From My Life" Quartet, Sortomme's readily approachable second gift to Cleveland emerged as…a gripping, vigorously colorful re-imagining of the original…Despite its audible roots in an existing piece, the concerto was relentlessly unpredictable…the piece also kept listeners on their toes, shifting unexpectedly from the ponderous and melodious to the frenzied and rhythmic… Indeed, Sortomme knows how to write for orchestra, and must be permitted to do so again…”

Zachary Lewis, The Plain Dealer
Gary Hanson, Exec. Dir. of The Cleveland Orchestra, 2004-15, reflects on Double Viola Concerto

“Richard Sortomme’s Double Viola Concerto was commissioned by The Cleveland Orchestra to celebrate the distinguished tenure of retiring Principal Viola Robert Vernon. With Assistant Principal Viola Lynn Ramsey joining her colleague and conducted by Music Director Laurette, Christoph von Dohnanyi, Sortomme’s unique and challenging composition was tailor-made for the performers’ soloistic and ensemble strengths. And even beyond Sortomme’s ample musical goals, his work evidenced a welcome sensitivity to the important institutional occasion.”

November 18, 2015: A chat with composer Richard Sortomme about his second World Premiere with The Cleveland Orchestra, Concerto for 2 Violas & Orchestra
July 26, 2007: The Cleveland Orchestra Rhapsody for Viola and Orchestra World Premiere
“Between Mozart and Tchaikovsky, however, came the highpoint of the evening: the world premiere of a Rhapsody for Viola and Orchestra by a New York-based composer....Richard Sortomme....Here is a work that speaks to an audience with music for savoring rather than academic exercises or arcane technical experiments. There is not so much repertory for viola and orchestra that such an imaginative and listenable work cannot make its way in the wider concert world…..”

Robert Finn, The American Record Guide
April 7, 2018: Sortomme participated as a judge
in the Artist Series Concerts National String Competition in Sarasota, Florida.
Sortomme, composing major symphonic work with voices based on the holiday The Day Of The Dead,
“is joined by writer/director Andrei Severny and producer/director/visual artist Doug Fitch who will create a film that will be mounted with the production.”